Board of directors

The SMS board of directors is responsible for providing governance and oversight for the company strategy, operations and management.

Derek Young, AM Chairman

Derek Young was appointed Chairman in June 2014. He has over 30 years management consulting experience, including as former Managing Director of Accenture Australia.

Derek is currently the Chair of the Robert Rose Foundation and is a member of the Major Performing Arts Panel of the Australia Council for the Arts. Derek is an Adjunct Professor in RMIT’s School of Accounting.

His previous Board positions have included Melbourne Theatre Company (Chair), Australian Major Performing Arts Group (Chair), RMIT University Council (Chair, Finance Committee), Committee for Melbourne, and Australian Information Industry Association (“AIIA”).

Derek was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (“AM”) in 2013 for significant service to the community of Victoria through contributions to the performing arts and higher education, and to philanthropy.

Rick Rostolis Executive Director

Rick is the Chief Executive Officer and an Executive Director of SMS. Rick commenced as Chief Executive Officer in May 2016. Prior to this he served as the company's Chief Financial Officer since October 2010. 

Prior to joining SMS, Rick was the Chief Operating Officer of BlueAnt Wireless, a global technology company specialising in wireless communication. Rick commenced his professional career with KPMG prior to joining Pacific Brands where he held various senior management roles including Group General Manager, Outerwear & Sport; Group Commercial Manager, Underwear & Hosiery; and General Manager, Corporate Development. In 2004, Rick led the project team involved in the $1.25 billion IPO of Pacific Brands.

Nicole Birrell Non-Executive Director

Nicole Birrell joined the Board of SMS in December 2004. She has over 27 years’ experience in corporate and investment banking, most recently as Head of Operational Risk and Compliance in the Institutional Financial Services division of ANZ Banking Group in Melbourne. Prior roles were with investment bank County NatWest and with Chase Manhattan Bank/Chase AMP in London and Sydney.

Nicole is currently the Chair of the Board of Trustees of International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), and a Director of Wheat Quality Australia Ltd and Victorian Plantations Corporation. Nicole is also an operational risk management consultant. She was previously a Director of Superpartners Pty Ltd and on the Boards of Queensland Sugar Ltd, Grains Research and Development Corporation, AusBulk Ltd and the Australian Practice Nurses Association Inc. She was formerly the Chair of AusMalt Pty Ltd and was a member of Wheat Exports Australia.

Nicole graduated from the University of Antwerp with a degree in Applied Economics and obtained a M.Sc. in International Relations from the London School of Economics. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Bruce Thompson Non-Executive Director

Bruce Thompson joined the Board of SMS Management & Technology in October 2000.  He is the former Chairman and Managing Director of Hewlett-Packard Australia Ltd and he worked with Hewlett-Packard for 32 years in Australia and overseas until his retirement in August 2000.

Bruce was also formerly:

  • Chairman of the Victorian Government Commission for Gambling Regulation; 
  • Council and Board Member of the Box Hill Institute of TAFE
  • Chairman of Innovonics Ltd;
  • Chief Executive Officer of Keycorp Limited;
  • A trustee of Melbourne Cricket Ground Trust; and
  • A member of the Business Council of Australia.

Bruce is a graduate of Monash University with a Bachelor of Economics, a Fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Graduate of the Wharton Business School Advanced Management Program.

Justin Milne Non-Executive Director

Justin Milne joined the Board of SMS in August 2014.

Justin is currently Chairman of MYOB and NetComm Wireless Limited and is also a Director of Tabcorp Holdings Limited, Members Equity Bank Limited and NBN Co.   His prior Board experience includes roles as Chairman of pieNETWORKS Limited, a Director of Quickflix Ltd, SA Economic Development Board, Basketball Australia Limited and the Sydney Children’s Hospital.

Justin has previously had an executive career in telecommunications, marketing and media including roles as Group Managing Director of Telstra’s broadband, media and New Media businesses in China.  Justin has also held management roles as Chief Executive Officer of OzEmail and the Microsoft Network.

Mr. Milne has a Bachelor of Arts and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.